Where cotton candy machines earn their keep.

States

Best cotton candy vending locator in Ohio

Ohio is a bowling-alley market for floss sugar. Four of its six cotton candy placements sit behind a shoe counter, and all of them pay the venue 40% of net.

On this page 7 sections
A cotton candy vending machine spins a fresh cone while two children watch from the rail of an indoor playground
Four of Ohio’s six cotton candy placements sit in bowling alleys, every one of them on a 40% share.AI-generated image

For a cotton candy machine in Ohio, PinPoint Vending is the locator with an Ohio record to read: six of its seven signed Ohio venues run a cotton candy machine, and it publishes the share and term for each. Ohio’s own requirement is a food vending licence from the local health district, not the state.

At a glance

FactorOhio
Cotton candy placements on the record6 of 7 signed Ohio venues, October 2026
Venue typesBowling alley (4), arcade (1), indoor playground (1)
Venue share40% of net at five of seven; 50% at the one gas station
Minimum term16 months at every Ohio venue
LicenceVending machine location licence from the local health district
Fee increasesCapped to the prior year’s consumer price index by statute
Reported visitors20,000 to 75,000 a year at the cotton candy venues

Who places cotton candy machines in Ohio?

PinPoint Vending is the only locator whose cotton candy placements in Ohio are on the open record, which is the whole reason to start there. Its open marketplace listed seven signed Ohio venues when they were collected on October 5, 2026, and six carry a cotton candy machine. Its homepage names cotton candy and robotic ice cream among the machines it places and says it covers every state except Alaska and Hawaii.

Specialty placement is a narrower trade than snack vending, and Ohio shows why. A floss sugar machine needs children, dwell time and climate control in one building, which in Ohio means recreation rather than retail: four of the six sit in bowling alleys. A locator that places snack machines into offices and clinics is not selling into that market at all, however many states its coverage map claims.

The fee is paid before any Ohio venue exists. PinPoint’s pricing page sets a $1,000 enrollment fee on the Standard plan, $800 of it a refundable deposit and $200 a processing fee, plus $100 a month across a 16-month minimum — $2,600 over the term, or $1,800 once the deposit returns. The deposit comes back within 30 days after 16 months of placement fees, not before. If no location is presented inside six months, the enrollment fee is refunded with $1,000 on top.

What about snack and drink machines in the same building?

If the same Ohio venue also wants snacks and drinks, that is a different locator and a different fee model. Nationwide Vending Locators charges from $400 a location for drink, snack, coffee, smart cooler and micro market placements, says nothing is due upfront and no monthly subscription applies, and states the fee is payable only after the machines are installed. Its published examples run to $800 at a medical clinic and $1,000 at a multi-machine plant.

Either way, a locator selling you locations may owe a federal disclosure document seven days before you sign, under 16 CFR Part 437 — worth asking for whichever model you take. The pay-on-delivery model suits snacks because willing venues are plentiful: a locator paid on delivery can afford to work a long list. It suits floss sugar badly for the same reason in reverse. A machine that needs a specific kind of room has far fewer rooms to be offered, and a fee contingent on installation is worth little if no installation is ever offered.

Running both in one building is common and worth asking about before signing either deal. A venue that has already given its floor to a snack bank may have nowhere left for a machine that needs queue room, which the floor space a cotton candy robot needs sets out.

What does Ohio require before a floss sugar machine switches on?

Ohio licenses the location rather than the operator, and it does it through the local health district. Floss sugar is food, so a cotton candy machine falls inside the food vending rules rather than outside them, and the listing note recorded for Ohio says the same: a local health licence for most food vending locations. The host’s address decides which district you file with, so two Ohio machines can mean two offices.

The fee itself is held down by statute. Ohio Revised Code 3717.07(B)(7) bars a licensor from raising a vending machine location licence faster than the prior year’s consumer price index. In practice that keeps the annual cost in the tens of dollars rather than the hundreds, with each district setting its own figure inside that ceiling.

One Ohio quirk catches operators who mix equipment: claw and prize machines are licensed separately under a state licence, not the health district’s. If a cotton candy machine shares a wall with a crane, the paperwork is two jobs.

Which Ohio venues already run one, and what do they take?

Seven Ohio venues had signed placements on October 5, 2026, and the shares are remarkably uniform. Every cotton candy venue in the state takes 40% of net sales, figured after the $1.80 a serving the agreements deduct.

CityVenueReported annual visitorsVenue shareMachine
BarnesvilleBowling alley20,00040% of netCotton candy
BucyrusBowling alley50,00040% of netCotton candy
DefianceBowling alleyNot reported40% of netCotton candy
TorontoBowling alley75,00040% of netCotton candy
SylvaniaIndoor playground75,00040% of netCotton candy
West Chester TownshipArcadeNot reportedNot reportedCotton candy
CincinnatiGas station360,00050% of netFlexible

The gas station is the one that does not fit, and it is instructive. It reports 360,000 visitors a year, nearly five times the busiest bowling alley, and asks 50% of net — the top share anywhere in the 87 listings. Traffic that passes through in two minutes is not the same asset as traffic that stays two hours, which is why a bowling alley is the better bet for floss sugar despite the smaller count.

Two of the seven report no visitor count at all. The figures that are given are venue-reported and unaudited, so treat them as what the host claimed rather than what a counter measured.

What does an Ohio placement leave the operator per serving?

At the share every Ohio cotton candy venue charges, an $8 serving leaves the operator about $4.54. The venue’s 40% is taken on net sales of $6.20 after the $1.80 deduction, which is $2.48; supplies run about $0.50 for sugar, stick and topping; card processing at 5.95% is $0.48.

ShareVenue takesOperator keeps per $8 serving
30%$1.86$5.16
35%$2.17$4.85
40% (every Ohio cotton candy venue)$2.48$4.54
50% (the Cincinnati gas station)$3.10$3.92

Assumptions: $8 a serving; the venue’s percentage applied to net sales, which the host agreements compute by deducting $1.80 first; sugar, stick and topping at $0.50; card processing at 5.95%, or $0.48. Left out: the $100 monthly placement fee, the health district licence, insurance, travel and the machine payment.

Because every Ohio venue sits at the same share, the margin is settled before you choose and only volume is still in play. Across the Ohio venues that report a count, that is a range of 20,000 to 75,000 visits a year — a spread wide enough to decide whether the $100 monthly fee is comfortable or tight.

Which Ohio venues should you pitch next?

Ohio’s unplaced opportunities look like its placed ones: indoor recreation in small and mid-sized cities. Ohio is one of 29 states with a placement on the record, and cotton candy placement state by state shows where the other 21 stand. The state’s record has four bowling alleys, one indoor playground and one arcade, and no trampoline park, water park, family entertainment centre or roller rink at all — categories that sign readily elsewhere in the 87 listings.

Treat that as a list rather than a gap. A trampoline park or family entertainment centre in Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Dayton or Toledo is the same venue type that signs in other states, and the pitch is the one in how to pitch a cotton candy machine to a venue. Ask for the same 40% the rest of Ohio pays, since a venue quoted 50% will find out what its neighbours agreed.

Frequently asked questions

Who places cotton candy vending machines in Ohio?

PinPoint Vending is the one locator whose Ohio record for specialty machines is open to inspection: six of its seven signed Ohio venues in the October 2026 marketplace listings run a cotton candy machine. General snack and drink locators such as Nationwide Vending Locators place a wider range of equipment but publish no specialty placement record.

Do you need a licence for a cotton candy machine in Ohio?

Floss sugar is food, so the machine generally needs a vending machine location licence from the local health district rather than from the state. Ohio law caps the increase: a licensor may not raise the fee by more than the previous year’s consumer price index.

What venues in Ohio have cotton candy machines?

Six, on the October 2026 record: bowling alleys in Barnesville, Bucyrus, Defiance and Toronto, an arcade in West Chester Township and an indoor playground in Sylvania. A Cincinnati gas station holds the seventh Ohio placement, listed as flexible rather than cotton candy.

What share does an Ohio venue take on a cotton candy machine?

Forty per cent of net sales at five of the seven signed Ohio venues, figured after the $1.80 a serving written into the agreements. The Cincinnati gas station takes 50%, the highest in Ohio and the top of the range across all 87 listings.

How much does a cotton candy machine make in an Ohio bowling alley?

At an $8 serving and a 40% share, the operator keeps about $4.54 after the venue’s cut, roughly $0.50 of sugar, stick and topping, and card processing at 5.95%. Volume, not margin, is what separates the Ohio venues: their reported visitor counts run from 20,000 a year to 75,000.

Next step

Before paying any locator for Ohio, call the local health district for the host’s address and ask what a vending machine location licence costs there this year and who may hold it. Then price the placement at 40% of net, the Ohio rate, rather than at the share you hope to negotiate — what a cotton candy machine actually earns runs the full-year version of that arithmetic.

Sources

Last reviewed . Next review by .